Uncategorized

A.N.X.I.E.T.Y.

Hello, world.

I thought I would bring it down a level and get a little personal with you.

It’s something I feel that is important to talk about.

Anxiety.

I’m going on a purely self diagnosed thing here, like I could have something else entirely, I have no idea.

The reason I want to talk about this is because I feel some people don’t know how to deal with it. I’m not talking about us going through it, I’m talking about the people around us. The onlookers. It’s so hard for me to try and get across to other people how I feel in a moment that it happens.

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard “just deal with it. It’s mind over matter” when actually it isn’t. If something in my head triggers it unexpectedly I’m not able to talk myself out of it. I cannot just think to myself “Oh, no, it’s fine, just get on with it.” My whole body goes into melt down mode. Nothing you say or do is going to make me feel better, and getting angry about the situation is only going to make it that much more worse for me. In that moment, I want nothing more than to turn invisible. I want to close my eyes and then open them and pray I’m somewhere I feel safe and that nothing is a threat to me.

More importantly, I want to get to a very basic fact. I’m still working on it myself, but my anxiety does not define me. It is not who I am as a person. It’s just something that comes with me. Like a package deal that I’m trying to deal with.

My point is, I think it is so important for people to know how to deal with someone when they are experiencing anything anxiety related. Be calm. That is my absolute go to for somebody dealing with a person in that moment. Don’t get angry, DO NOT ask why it is happening, just, please, try to understand the situation as best as you can without asking questions. Comfort them and try to get them to move past it as quickly as possible.

Love always,

Hannah.

Leave a Reply

